Concealed Weapons Permit Courses

Home/Concealed Weapons Permit Courses
Concealed Weapons Permit Courses 2017-05-31T00:30:43+00:00

South Carolina CWP Course Schedule

SC CWP CLASSES

June 10th | June 17th | June 24th
July 1st | July 8th | July 15th | July 22nd | July 29th

Additional SC Courses can be scheduled upon request.
Corporate Discounts & Group Discounts.
Schedule early to lock in available seating.

Note: If you BUY NOW below to register for a CWP course you must promptly email Top Gun to inform David Blanton what course date you prefer in order to provide David a heads-up to determine appropriate seating availability. Classes are prone to fill quickly. Stragglers who do not promptly email David as soon as you successfully complete your Buy Now payment below may have to wait for the next available course date.

South Carolina CWP Course




Age: Minimum age 21 years or older
Time: One Day (8 Hours)
Cost: $35.00

Short Description: South Carolina concealed weapons permit course is moderated by a Certified Firearms Instructor pursuant to the rules and laws of South Carolina Law Enforcement Division (SLED). South Carolina law enforcement and spouses attend free.

Long Description: Upon successful completion of your South Carolina CWP course, you will receive a concealed weapons permit application form and a fingerprint card. The application fee of $50.00 is to be mailed with your CWP application and finger print card to the address provided. Please learn more below.

The South Carolina Concealed Weapons Permit course is not available to anyone prohibited to purchase a firearm due to prior history. This CWP course is available to anyone residing in South Carolina with a South Carolina drivers license or state-issued ID.

The State of South Carolina also authorizes this CWP course for a non-resident property owner, if the real property generates an annual tax receipt. If you have any questions do not hesitate to contact Top Gun Shooting today. In the event you have any concerns or questions contact David Blanton today.




South Carolina CWP Course

SECTION 23-31-205

This article may be cited as the “Law Abiding Citizens Self-Defense Act of 1996”.

IMPORTANT: The law cited on this page is not a complete reading of all rules and laws and shall never to be construed by you as offering legal advice or legal guidance as to any particular person or situation. This page is intended solely for general conversation and is not specific to any person or any particular situation.

For specific reading and interpretation of all relevant rules and laws communicate directly with your legal adviser.

SECTION 23-31-210. Definitions.

As used in this article:
(1) “Resident” means an individual who is present in South Carolina with the intention of making a permanent home in South Carolina or military personnel on permanent change of station orders.
(2) “Qualified nonresident” means an individual who owns real property in South Carolina, but who resides in another state.
(3) “Picture identification” means:
(a) a valid South Carolina driver’s license, or if the applicant is a qualified nonresident, a valid driver’s license issued by the state in which the applicant resides; or
(b) an official photographic identification card issued by the Department of Revenue, a federal or state law enforcement agency, an agency of the United States Department of Defense, or the United States Department of State.
(4) “Proof of residence” means a person’s current address on the original or certified copy of:
(a) a valid South Carolina driver’s license;
(b) an official identification card issued by the Department of Revenue, a federal or state law enforcement agency, an agency of the United States Department of Defense, or the United States Department of State;
(c) a voter registration card; or
(d) another document that SLED may determine that fulfills this requirement.
(5) “Proof of training” means an original document or certified copy of the document supplied by an applicant that certifies that he is either:
(a) a person who, within three years before filing an application, has successfully completed a basic or advanced handgun education course offered by a state, county, or municipal law enforcement agency or a nationally recognized organization that promotes gun safety. This education course must be a minimum of eight hours and must include, but is not limited to:
(i) information on the statutory and case law of this State relating to handguns and to the use of deadly force;
(ii) information on handgun use and safety;
(iii) information on the proper storage practice for handguns with an emphasis on storage practices that reduces the possibility of accidental injury to a child; and
(iv) the actual firing of the handgun in the presence of the instructor;
(b) an instructor certified by the National Rifle Association or another SLED-approved competent national organization that promotes the safe use of handguns;
(c) a person who can demonstrate to the Director of SLED or his designee that he has a proficiency in both the use of handguns and state laws pertaining to handguns;
(d) an active duty police handgun instructor;
(e) a person who has a SLED-certified or approved competitive handgun shooting classification; or
(f) a member of the active or reserve military, or a member of the National Guard who has had handgun training in the previous three years.
SLED shall promulgate regulations containing general guidelines for courses and qualifications for instructors which would satisfy the requirements of this item. For purposes of sub-items (a) and (b), “proof of training” is not satisfied unless the organization and its instructors meet or exceed the guidelines and qualifications contained in the regulations promulgated by SLED pursuant to this item.
(6) “Concealable weapon” means a firearm having a length of less than twelve inches measured along its greatest dimension that must be carried in a manner that is hidden from public view in normal wear of clothing except when needed for self-defense, defense of others, and the protection of real or personal property.
(7) “Proof of ownership of real property” means a certified current document from the county assessor of the county in which the property is located verifying ownership of the real property. SLED must determine the appropriate document that fulfills this requirement.
HISTORY: 1996 Act No. 464, Section 1; 2002 Act No. 274, Section 3; 2006 Act No. 347, Section 1, eff June 9, 2006.

IMPORTANT: The law cited on this page is not a complete reading of all rules and laws and shall never to be construed by you as offering legal advice or legal guidance as to any particular person or situation. This page is intended solely for general conversation and is not specific to any person or any particular situation.

For specific reading and interpretation of all relevant rules and laws communicate directly with your legal adviser.

SECTION 23-31-215. Issuance of permits.

(A) Notwithstanding any other provision of law, except subject to subsection (B) of this section, SLED must issue a permit, which is no larger than three and one-half inches by three inches in size, to carry a concealable weapon to a resident or qualified nonresident who is at least twenty-one years of age and who is not prohibited by state law from possessing the weapon upon submission of:
(1) a completed application signed by the person;
(2) one current full face color photograph of the person, not smaller than one inch by one inch nor larger than three inches by five inches;
(3) proof of residence or if the person is a qualified nonresident, proof of ownership of real property in this State;
(4) proof of actual or corrected vision rated at 20/40 within six months of the date of application or, in the case of a person licensed to operate a motor vehicle in this State, presentation of a valid driver’s license;
(5) proof of training;
(6) payment of a fifty-dollar application fee. This fee must be waived for disabled veterans and retired law enforcement officers; and
(7) a complete set of fingerprints unless, because of a medical condition verified in writing by a licensed medical doctor, a complete set of fingerprints is impossible to submit. In lieu of the submission of fingerprints, the applicant must submit the written statement from a licensed medical doctor specifying the reason or reasons why the applicant’s fingerprints may not be taken. If all other qualifications are met, the Chief of SLED may waive the fingerprint requirements of this item. The statement of medical limitation must be attached to the copy of the application retained by SLED. A law enforcement agency may charge a fee not to exceed five dollars for fingerprinting an applicant.
(B) Upon submission of the items required by subsection (A) of this section, SLED must conduct or facilitate a local, state, and federal fingerprint review of the applicant. SLED must also conduct a background check of the applicant through notification to and input from the sheriff of the county where the applicant resides or if the applicant is a qualified nonresident, where the applicant owns real property in this State. The sheriff within ten working days after notification by SLED, must submit a recommendation on an application. Before making a determination whether or not to issue a permit under this article, SLED must consider the recommendation provided pursuant to this subsection. The failure of the sheriff to submit a recommendation within the ten-day period constitutes a favorable recommendation for the issuance of the permit to the applicant. If the fingerprint review and background check are favorable, SLED must issue the permit.
(C) SLED shall issue a written statement to an unqualified applicant specifying its reasons for denying the application within ninety days from the date the application was received; otherwise, SLED shall issue a concealable weapon permit. If an applicant is unable to comply with the provisions of Section 23-31-210(4), SLED shall offer the applicant a handgun training course that satisfies the requirements of Section 23-31-210(4)(a). The course shall cost fifty dollars. SLED shall use the proceeds to defray the training course’s operating costs. If a permit is granted by operation of law because an applicant was not notified of a denial within the ninety-day notification period, the permit may be revoked upon written notification from SLED that sufficient grounds exist for revocation or initial denial.
(D) Denial of an application may be appealed. The appeal must be in writing and state the basis for the appeal. The appeal must be submitted to the Chief of SLED within thirty days from the date the denial notice is received. The chief shall issue a written decision within ten days from the date the appeal is received. An adverse decision shall specify the reasons for upholding the denial and may be reviewed by the Administrative Law Judge Division pursuant to Article 5, Chapter 23 of Title 1, upon a petition filed by an applicant within thirty days from the date of delivery of the division’s decision.
(E) SLED must make permit application forms available to the public. A permit application form shall require an applicant to supply:
(1) name, including maiden name if applicable;
(2) date and place of birth;
(3) sex;
(4) race;
(5) height;
(6) weight;
(7) eye and hair color;
(8) current residence address, or if the applicant is a qualified nonresident, current residence address and where the applicant owns real property in this State; and
(9) all residence addresses for the three years preceding the application date.
(F) The permit application form shall require the applicant to certify that:
(1) he is not a person prohibited under state law from possessing a weapon;
(2) he understands the permit is revoked and must be surrendered immediately to SLED if the permit holder becomes a person prohibited under state law from possessing a weapon;
(3) he is a resident of this State, is military personnel on permanent change of station orders, or is a qualified nonresident; and
(4) all information contained in his application is true and correct to the best of his knowledge.
(G) Medical personnel, law enforcement agencies, organizations offering handgun education courses pursuant to Section 23-31-210(4)(a), and their personnel, who in good faith provide information regarding a person’s application, must be exempt from liability that may arise from issuance of a permit; provided, however, a weapons instructor must meet the requirements established in Section 23-31-210(4)(b), (c), (d), (e), or (f) in order to be exempt from liability under this subsection.
(H) A permit application must be submitted in person or by mail to SLED headquarters which shall verify the legibility and accuracy of the required documents.
(I) SLED must maintain a list of all permit holders and the current status of each permit. SLED may release the list of permit holders or verify an individual’s permit status only if the request is made by a law enforcement agency to aid in an official investigation, or if the list is required to be released pursuant to a subpoena or court order. SLED may charge a fee not to exceed its costs in releasing the information under this subsection. Except as otherwise provided in this subsection, a person in possession of a list of permit holders obtained from SLED must destroy the list.
(J) A permit is valid statewide unless revoked because the person has:
(1) become a person prohibited under state law from possessing a weapon;
(2) moved his permanent residence to another state and no longer owns real property in this State;
(3) voluntarily surrendered the permit; or
(4) been charged with an offense that, upon conviction, would prohibit the person from possessing a firearm. However, if the person subsequently is found not guilty of the offense, then his permit must be reinstated at no charge.
Once a permit is revoked, it must be surrendered to a sheriff, police department, a SLED agent, or by certified mail to the Chief of SLED. A person who fails to surrender his permit in accordance with this subsection is guilty of a misdemeanor and, upon conviction, must be fined twenty-five dollars.
(K) A permit holder must have his permit identification card in his possession whenever he carries a concealable weapon. When carrying a concealable weapon pursuant to Article 4 of Chapter 31 of Title 23, a permit holder must inform a law enforcement officer of the fact that he is a permit holder and present the permit identification card when an officer (1) identifies himself as a law enforcement officer and (2) requests identification or a driver’s license from a permit holder. A permit holder immediately must report the loss or theft of a permit identification card to SLED headquarters. A person who violates the provisions of this subsection is guilty of a misdemeanor and, upon conviction, must be fined twenty-five dollars.
(L) SLED shall issue a replacement for lost, stolen, damaged, or destroyed permit identification cards after the permit holder has updated all information required in the original application and the payment of a five-dollar replacement fee. Any change of permanent address must be communicated in writing to SLED within ten days of the change accompanied by the payment of a fee of five dollars to defray the cost of issuance of a new permit. SLED shall then issue a new permit with the new address. A permit holder’s failure to notify SLED in accordance with this subsection constitutes a misdemeanor punishable by a twenty-five dollar fine. The original permit shall remain in force until receipt of the corrected permit identification card by the permit holder, at which time the original permit must be returned to SLED.
(M) A permit issued pursuant to this section does not authorize a permit holder to carry a concealable weapon into a:
(1) police, sheriff, or highway patrol station or any other law enforcement office or facility;
(2) detention facility, prison, or jail or any other correctional facility or office;
(3) courthouse or courtroom;
(4) polling place on election days;
(5) office of or the business meeting of the governing body of a county, public school district, municipality, or special purpose district;
(6) school or college athletic event not related to firearms;
(7) daycare facility or pre-school facility;
(8) place where the carrying of firearms is prohibited by federal law;
(9) church or other established religious sanctuary unless express permission is given by the appropriate church official or governing body; or
(10) hospital, medical clinic, doctor’s office, or any other facility where medical services or procedures are performed unless expressly authorized by the employer.
A person who wilfully violates a provision of this subsection is guilty of a misdemeanor and, upon conviction, must be fined not less than one thousand dollars or imprisoned not more than one year, or both, at the discretion of the court and have his permit revoked for five years.Nothing contained herein may be construed to alter or affect the provisions of Sections 10-11-320, 16-23-420, 16-23-430, 16-23-465, 44-23-1080, 44-52-165, 50-9-830, and 51-3-145.
(N) Valid out-of-state permits to carry concealable weapons held by a resident of a reciprocal state must be honored by this State, provided, that the reciprocal state requires an applicant to successfully pass a criminal background check and a course in firearm training and safety. A resident of a reciprocal state carrying a concealable weapon in South Carolina is subject to and must abide by the laws of South Carolina regarding concealable weapons. SLED shall maintain and publish a list of those states as the states with which South Carolina has reciprocity.
(O) A permit issued pursuant to this article is not required for a person:
(1) specified in Section 16-23-20, items (1) through (5) and items (7) through (11);
(2) carrying a self-defense device generally considered to be nonlethal including the substance commonly referred to as “pepper gas”;
(3) carrying a concealable weapon in a manner not prohibited by law.
(P) A permit issued pursuant to this article is valid for four years. Subject to subsection (Q) of this section, SLED shall renew a currently valid permit upon:
(1) payment of a fifty-dollar renewal fee by the applicant. This fee must be waived for disabled veterans and retired law enforcement officers;
(2) completion of the renewal application; and
(3) submission of a photocopy of the applicant’s valid South Carolina driver’s license or South Carolina identification card, or if the applicant is a qualified nonresident, a photocopy of the applicant’s valid driver’s license or identification card issued by the state in which the applicant resides.
(Q) Upon submission of the items required by subsection (P) of this section, SLED must conduct or facilitate a local, state, and federal fingerprint review of the applicant. If the background check is favorable, SLED must renew the permit.
(R) No provision contained within this article shall expand, diminish, or affect the duty of care owed by and liability accruing to, as may exist at law immediately before the effective date of this article, the owner of or individual in legal possession of real property for the injury or death of an invitee, licensee, or trespasser caused by the use or misuse by a third party of a concealable weapon. Absence of a sign prohibiting concealable weapons shall not constitute negligence or establish a lack of duty of care.
(S) Once a concealed weapon permit holder is no longer a resident of this State or is no longer a qualified nonresident, his concealed weapon permit is void, and immediately must be surrendered to SLED.
(T) During the first quarter of each calendar year, SLED must publish a report of the following information regarding the previous calendar year:
(1) the number of permits;
(2) the number of permits that were issued;
(3) the number of permit applications that were denied;
(4) the number of permits that were renewed;
(5) the number of permit renewals that were denied;
(6) the number of permits that were suspended or revoked; and
(7) the name, address, and county of a person whose permit was revoked, including the reason for the revocation under Section 23-31-215(J)(1).

The report must include a breakdown of such information by county.
HISTORY: 1996 Act No. 464, Section 1; 1997 Act No. 39, Section 2; 2002 Act No. 274, Section 4; 2005 Act No. 154, Section 1; 2006 Act No. 347, Section 2, eff June 9, 2006; 2008 Act No. 202, Sections 1, 2, eff April 16, 2008; 2008 Act No. 349, Section 1, eff June 16, 2008.

IMPORTANT: The law cited on this page is not a complete reading of all rules and laws and shall never to be construed by you as offering legal advice or legal guidance as to any particular person or situation. This page is intended solely for general conversation and is not specific to any person or any particular situation.

For specific reading and interpretation of all relevant rules and laws communicate directly with your legal adviser.

SECTION 23-31-220. Right to allow or permit concealed weapons upon premises; signs.

Nothing contained in this article shall in any way be construed to limit, diminish, or otherwise infringe upon:
(1) the right of a public or private employer to prohibit a person who is licensed under this article from carrying a concealable weapon upon the premises of the business or work place or while using any machinery, vehicle, or equipment owned or operated by the business;
(2) the right of a private property owner or person in legal possession or control to allow or prohibit the carrying of a concealable weapon upon his premises.The posting by the employer, owner, or person in legal possession or control of a sign stating “No Concealable Weapons Allowed” shall constitute notice to a person holding a permit issued pursuant to this article that the employer, owner, or person in legal possession or control requests that concealable weapons not be brought upon the premises or into the work place. A person who brings a concealable weapon onto the premises or work place in violation of the provisions of this paragraph may be charged with a violation of Section 16-11-620. In addition to the penalties provided in Section 16-11-620, a person convicted of a second or subsequent violation of the provisions of this paragraph must have his permit revoked for a period of one year. The prohibition contained in this section does not apply to persons specified in Section 16-23-20, item (1).

IMPORTANT: The law cited on this page is not a complete reading of all rules and laws and shall never to be construed by you as offering legal advice or legal guidance as to any particular person or situation. This page is intended solely for general conversation and is not specific to any person or any particular situation.

For specific reading and interpretation of all relevant rules and laws communicate directly with your legal adviser.

SECTION 23-31-225. Carrying concealed weapons into residences or dwellings.

No person who holds a permit issued pursuant to Article 4, Chapter 31, Title 23 may carry a concealable weapon into the residence or dwelling place of another person without the express permission of the owner or person in legal control or possession, as appropriate. A person who violates this provision is guilty of a misdemeanor and, upon conviction, must be fined not less than one thousand dollars or imprisoned for not more than one year, or both, at the discretion of the court and have his permit revoked for five years.

IMPORTANT: The law cited on this page is not a complete reading of all rules and laws and shall never to be construed by you as offering legal advice or legal guidance as to any particular person or situation. This page is intended solely for general conversation and is not specific to any person or any particular situation.

For specific reading and interpretation of all relevant rules and laws communicate directly with your legal adviser.

SECTION 23-31-230. Carrying… Between Automobile & Accommodation.

Notwithstanding any provision of law, any person may carry a concealable weapon from an automobile or other motorized conveyance to a room or other accommodation he has rented and upon which an accommodations tax has been paid.

IMPORTANT: The law cited on this page is not a complete reading of all rules and laws and shall never to be construed by you as offering legal advice or legal guidance as to any particular person or situation. This page is intended solely for general conversation and is not specific to any person or any particular situation.

For specific reading and interpretation of all relevant rules and laws communicate directly with your legal adviser.




Utah CWP Course Schedule

Utah CWP Course

July 16th
Enroll Early

Private Utah courses available for corporations, groups, & teams.
Discount large groups.
Expansive list of additional “carry states” upon issue of Utah CWP.

Note: If you BUY NOW below to register for a CWP course you must promptly email Top Gun to inform David Blanton what course date you prefer in order to provide David a heads-up to determine appropriate seating availability. Classes are prone to fill quickly. Stragglers who do not promptly email David as soon as you successfully complete your Buy Now payment below may have to wait for the next available course date.

Utah CWP Course




Age: Minimum 21 years of age with valid drivers license or state issued ID.
Time: Half Day (4 Hours)
Cost: $75.00

Short Description: Utah concealed weapons permit course is moderated by a Utah Certified Firearms Instructor here in South Carolina pursuant to rules and laws of Utah. South Carolina law enforcement and spouses attend free.

Long Description: Concealed Firearms permits in the State of Utah are regulated by the Bureau of Criminal Identification. A permit to carry a concealed firearm in Utah may be obtained by completing this Utah course. All applicants must meet the requirements of Utah CWP course and all other requirements as outlined on Form 96-4-02 Application for Concealed Firearm Permit.

This Utah CWP course requires the student to complete the CWP course and mail an application with a $49.00 application fee. You do not need to be a resident of South Carolina to attend the Utah CWP course.

A person does not have to complete a South Carolina CWP course to take the Utah CWP Course. A person with a Utah CWP is not permitted to carry a concealed firearm in South Carolina by issuance of a Utah CWP.




Utah Concealed Firearm Act

Section 53-5-701. Title.

This part is known as the “Concealed Firearm Act.”

Section 53-5-702. Definitions.

In addition to the definitions in Section 76-10-501, as used in this part:
(1) “Active duty service member” means a person on active military duty with the United States military and includes full time military active duty, military reserve active duty, and national guard military active duty service members stationed in Utah.
(2) “Active duty service member spouse” means a person recognized by the military as the spouse of an active duty service member and who resides with the active duty service member in Utah.
(3) “Board” means the Concealed Firearm Review Board created in Section 53-5-703.
(4) “Bureau” means the Bureau of Criminal Identification created in Section 53-10-201 within the Department of Public Safety.
(5) “Commissioner” means the commissioner of the Department of Public Safety.
(6) “Conviction” means criminal conduct where the filing of a criminal charge has resulted in:
(a) a finding of guilt based on evidence presented to a judge or jury;
(b) a guilty plea;
(c) a plea of nolo contendere;
(d) a plea of guilty or nolo contendere which is held in abeyance pending the successful completion of probation;
(e) a pending diversion agreement; or
(f) a conviction which has been reduced pursuant to Section 76-3-402.

Section 53-5-703. Board – Membership – Compensation – Terms – Duties.

(1) There is created within the bureau the Concealed Firearm Review Board.
(2)
(a) The board is comprised of not more than five members appointed by the commissioner on a bipartisan basis.
(b) The board shall include a member representing law enforcement and at least two citizens, one of whom represents sporting interests.
(3)
(a) Except as required by Subsection (3)(b), as terms of current board members expire, the commissioner shall appoint each new member or reappointed member to a four-year term.
(b) Notwithstanding the requirements of Subsection (3)(a), the commissioner shall, at the time of appointment or reappointment, adjust the length of terms to ensure that the terms of board members are staggered so that approximately half of the board is appointed every two years.
(4) When a vacancy occurs in the membership for any reason, the replacement shall be appointed for the unexpired term.
(5) A member may not receive compensation or benefits for the member’s service, but may receive per diem and travel expenses in accordance with:
(a) Section 63A-3-106;
(b) Section 63A-3-107; and
(c) rules made by the Division of Finance pursuant to Sections 63A-3-106 and 63A-3-107.
(6) The board shall meet at least quarterly, unless the board has no business to conduct during that quarter.
(7) The board, upon receiving a timely filed petition for review, shall review within a reasonable time the denial, suspension, or revocation of a permit or a temporary permit to carry a concealed firearm.

Section 53-5-705. Temporary permit concealed firearm – Denial, suspension, or revocation – Appeal

(1) The bureau or its designated agent may issue a temporary permit to carry a concealed firearm to a person who:
(a) has applied for a permit under Section 53-5-704;
(b) has applied for a temporary permit under this section; and
(c) meets the criteria required in Subsections (2) and (3).
(2) To receive a temporary permit under this section, the applicant shall demonstrate in writing to the satisfaction of the bureau extenuating circumstances that would justify issuing a temporary permit.
(3) A temporary permit may not be issued under this section until preliminary record checks regarding the applicant have been made with the National Crime Information Center and the bureau to determine any criminal history.
(4)
(a) A temporary permit is valid only for a maximum of 90 days or any lesser period specified by the bureau, or until a permit under Section 53-5-704 is issued to the holder of the temporary permit, whichever period is shorter.
(b) The provisions of Subsections 76-10-504(1) and (2) and Section 76-10-505 do not apply to a person issued a temporary permit under this section during the time period for which the temporary permit is valid.
(5) The bureau may deny, suspend, or revoke a temporary permit prior to expiration if the commissioner determines:
(a) the circumstances justifying the temporary permit no longer exist; or
(b) the holder of the temporary permit does not meet the requirements for a permit under Section 53-5-704.
(6)
(a) The denial, suspension, or revocation of a temporary permit shall be in writing and shall include the reasons for the action.
(b) The bureau’s decision to deny, suspend, or revoke a temporary permit may not be appealed to the board.
(c) Denial, suspension, or revocation under this subsection is final action for purposes of judicial review under Section 63G-4-402.

Amended by Chapter 62, 2010 General Session

Section 53-5-706. Permit – Fingerprints – Report from bureau

(1)
(a) Except as provided in Subsection (2), the fingerprints of each applicant shall be taken on a form prescribed by the bureau.
(b) Upon receipt of the fingerprints and the fee prescribed in Section 53-5-707, the bureau shall conduct a search of its files for criminal history information pertaining to the applicant, and shall request the Federal Bureau of Investigation to conduct a similar search through its files.
(c) If the fingerprints are insufficient for the Federal Bureau of Investigation to conduct a search of its files for criminal history information, the application or concealed firearm permit may be denied, suspended, or revoked until sufficient fingerprints are submitted by the applicant.
(2)
(a) If the permit applicant has previously applied to the bureau for a permit to carry concealed firearms, the bureau shall note the previous identification numbers and other data which would provide positive identification in the files of the bureau on the copy of any subsequent permit submitted to the bureau in accordance with this section.
(b) No additional application form, fingerprints, or fee are required under this Subsection (2).

Amended by Chapter 368, 2011 General Session

Section 53-5-707. Concealed firearm permit

(1)
(a) An applicant for a concealed firearm permit shall pay a fee of $24.75 at the time of filing an application.
(b) A nonresident applicant shall pay an additional $10 for the additional cost of processing a nonresident application.
(c) The bureau shall waive the initial fee for an applicant who is a law enforcement officer under Section 53-13-103.
(d) Concealed firearm permit renewal fees for active duty service members and the spouse of an active duty service member shall be waived.
(2) The renewal fee for the permit is $15.
(3) The replacement fee for the permit is $10.
(4)
(a) The late fee for the renewal permit is $7.50.
(b) As used in this section, “late fee” means the fee charged by the bureau for a renewal submitted on a permit that has been expired for more than 30 days but less than one year.
(5)
(a) There is created a restricted account within the General Fund known as the “Concealed Weapons Account.”
(b) The account shall be funded from fees collected under this section.
(c) Funds in the account shall be used to cover costs relating to the issuance of concealed firearm permits under this part and may not be used for any other purpose.
(6)
(a) The bureau may collect any fees charged by an outside agency for additional services required by statute as a prerequisite for issuance of a permit.
(b) The bureau may modify the fee under Subsection (1)(a) by adjusting that fee so that the total of the fee under Subsection (1)(a) and the fee under Subsection (6)(a) is the nearest even dollar amount to that total.
(c) The bureau shall promptly forward any fees collected under Subsection (6)(a) to the appropriate agency.
(7) The bureau shall make an annual report in writing to the Legislature’s Law Enforcement and Criminal Justice Interim Committee on the amount and use of the fees collected under this section.

Amended by Chapter 189, 2014 General Session
Amended by Chapter 226, 2014 General Session